If a user has been deleted from realsmart in error, please contact realsmart support to restore this user, rather than creating a new account for them.

Deleting users from realsmart and Google is a two-step process. There are also safeguards in place to prevent data loss or privacy breaches.

In order to prevent accidental loss of data, including emails and Drive content realsmart do not completely remove user accounts even when a user is deleted.

There are two ways a user can be removed from realsmart and Google.

Automatically by smartsync

When a user is removed from your MIS, e.g. as a leaver, their account status in realsmart is changed to SUSPENDED when smartsync next runs. In turn, the user's Google account is also set to SUSPENDED.

This means that the user can no longer log into realsmart or Google and their group memberships etc. will be stripped.

Manually in smartadmin

When an admin deletes a user account in smartadmin console that user's status in realsmart is set to DELETED. This means that the user does not show up in smartadmin anymore, however, the account is preserved in our database for 90 days in case of accidental deletion, in line with our Data Protection Agreement.

The user's Google account is not affected by this action. This is because when deleting a Google account the admin must decide whether to transfer the user's data to another account or to delete it permanently. Google allows recovery of deleted accounts for up to 25 days.

This means that to fully delete a user they should be deleted from realsmart in smart admin then separately deleted from Google by a Google Admin.

Care must be taken to fully delete the user in case the username is assigned for a different user, this could give the new user access to the old user's mail and documents.

If a user has been deleted from realsmart in error, please contact realsmart support to restore this user, rather than creating a new account for them.